Return to Headlines

DSC Announces 2021 Teacher and Employee of the Year Finalists - 4/21

The Duneland School Corporation (DSC) will continue to celebrate excellence in education by selecting a Teacher of the Year at both the elementary and secondary level and a classified staff member as Employee of the Year.

Selection Process

Outstanding teachers and employees were nominated for recognition by students, parents, colleagues and Duneland community members in the month of February. In March, finalists were selected from those nominated by principals, supervisors and the Duneland Teachers Association.

A selection panel representing students, parents, community members and district administration will interview and then select the Teachers of the Year and the Employee of the Year from those recognized as finalists during the month of April.

2021 winners will be recognized at the May 3, 2021 School Board meeting, Beginning of the Year Programs in August, in DSC publications, website, and social media and on a plaque displayed at Central Office. Winners will also receive a classroom/office door banner along with a monetary stipend of $500. Thank you to 1st Source Bank, McColly Real Estate - Paul Boyter and Ellis Electric for continuing to sponsor the recognition program. In addition, both the elementary and secondary winner will represent Duneland teachers in the Indiana Department of Education’s statewide Teacher of the Year Program.

2021 DSC Teacher of the Year Finalists

Secondary Teachers:

Doug Adams - Chesterton High School

Kaylene Arizzi - Chesterton High School

Rachel Blythe - Chesterton High School

Liz Gyure - Chesterton High School

Anne Stark - Chesterton Middle School

Akiko Tsugawa - Chesterton Middle School

Elementary Teachers:

Elissa Dortmund - Brummitt Elementary School

Dave Lashenik - Liberty Intermediate School

Nancy Moats - Bailly Elementary School

David Mueller - Liberty Elementary School

Tammy Socausky - Yost Elementary School

Kaitlyn Toweson - Westchester Intermediate School

Marquita White - Jackson Elementary School

2021 DSC Employee of the Year Finalists

Classified Employees:

Chris Hall - DSC Maintenance

Lynne Jenks - DSC Human Resources

David Nawotka - DSC Technology

Mark Singer - DSC Maintenance

Leslie Tarnowski - DSC Teaching and Learning

Deeann Witek - DSC Technology