Return to Headlines

CHS Trojan Guard earns 4th Place at State Competition

On Saturday, October 23, the Chesterton High School Trojan Guard marching band competed in the 2021 Indiana State School Music Association Scholastic Finals competition held at Franklin Central HS in Indianapolis. Out of 21 bands in performance at the event, the Trojan Guard earned a 4th place finish, marking one of their highest placements since competing in Scholastic Class beginning in 2013. In addition to finishing in the top five of the class, the Trojan Guard scored among the top two in our region of Northwest Indiana with their highest score of the season.

This great finish is the culmination of a five-month long competitive season beginning with summer camp rehearsals in June and July and contests throughout the fall across northern Indiana. In addition to Scholastic Finals, the ensemble performed at the Goshen, Concord, and Penn invitationals, earning 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place finishes respectively. The Trojan Guard earned a 2nd place finish at the ISSMA Scholastic Prelims contest, qualifying them to compete at the Scholastic State Finals event.

Congratulations to all members of the 2021 Trojan Guard: Melanie Allison, Samantha Ames, Frank Augustyn, Katie Billings, Jillian Boster, Phoenix Bridegroom, Kristen Britzke, Caden Brum, Madison Buckley, Nathaniel Carpentier, Rebecca Carpentier, Abigail Casias, Addison Cole, Emma Comfort, Lydia Comfort, Theresa Connors, Giovanni DePasquale, Abbi Didonna, Adrian Dooley, Chloe Eash, Abigail Elliott, Ethan Elliott-Halinski, Makayla Erickson, Hannah Estridge, Elsa Estridge, Thomas Fadell, Cormac Fallon, Noah Fletcher, Evelyn Gardiner, Vanessa Godinez, Timothy Goldsberry, Brayden Gray, Chloe Hall, Matthew Haubold, Seamus Heneghan, Max Houghteling, Toby Ison, Addison Kellogg, Evelyn Kelly, Meagan Koutsopanagos, Kara Lahaie, Natalie Leensvaart, Hailey Leohr, Del Livovich, Michael Livovich, Haley Martinez, Ellie Martz, Kelsey Mason, Dexter Matthew, Abigail McCarthy, Troy McCormick, Brody Mehling, Isabella Muzzalupo, Ally Novreske, Jimmy O’Connor, Sophia Palmer, Kyle Pazdur, Skylar Peffers, Aiden Peschke, Dominick Pilla, CeCe Post, Katie Radliff, Ellen Rath, Avary Robinson, Peter Rodriguez, Ashton Rospierski, Lucy Rutkowski, Rosalie Salentine, Krystina Santiago, Soren Schott, Mike Schwab, Danica Sessions, Nicholas Shade, Logan Snyder, Jacob Spence, Joshua Spence, Connor Stadler, Landon Stojakovich, Mady Street, Bowen Summer, Olivia Sundquist, Mary Toms, Addisyn Torres, Madysen Vergon, Olivia Vogel, Addy Weitzel, Samantha Williams, Bridget Wisdom and Alaina Wring.