Return to Headlines

DeRuntz selected as Top 10 finalist in Indiana's Teacher of the Year - 8/21


The Indiana Teacher of the Year Screening Committee announced the 2022 INTOY Top 10 Finalists today.

Chesterton High School Social Studies teacher, Robert DeRuntz, has been selected as one of the 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year (INTOY) Top 10 Finalists.

In the Spring of 2020, Robert was selected as a DSC Secondary Teacher of the Year, but due to COVID-19 pandemic, the state delayed its INTOY recognition program. This year, school corporations were encouraged to submit their winners from the past two years into the state's nomination pool.

Each year, the Indiana Teacher of the Year Program (INTOY) works to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession by recognizing outstanding teachers from across the state. The INTOY award is a lifetime role in education, which has many opportunities to celebrate teaching and uplift the teaching profession. Indiana Teachers of the Year are a network of exceptional
teachers who are current or retired educators, administrators, and teacher leaders who continually provide support to the education community.

The Top 10 Finalists will be considered by the selection committee as they select the “Top 3” Finalists.

The 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year Top 10 Finalists are:

Lisa Clegg - Fort Wayne Community Schools
Susan Davis - South Bend Community School Corporation
Robert DeRuntz - Duneland School Corporation
Daniel Jones - Perry Township Schools
Jaime Lamkin - Clarksville Community Schools
Brayton Mendenhall - MSD Wayne Township
Gwyn Skrobul - Kankakee Valley School Corporation
Sarah TeKolste - Indianapolis Public Schools
Sharita Ware - Tippecanoe School Corporation
Jennifer Yoder - Goshen Community Schools